

UNITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY REGION 10

1200 Sixth Avenue, Suite 900 Seattle, WA 98101-3140

FEB 2 6 2010

OFFICE OF WATER AND WATERSHEDS

Reply To Attn Of:

OW-135

Mr. Mike D.J. Bonneau General Manager, Teck Alaska Incorporated Red Dog Operations 3105 Lakeshore Drive, Bldg. A, Suite 101 Anchorage, Alaska 99517

Re:

Notification of Stayed Permit Conditions - Teck Alaska Incorporated,

Red Dog Mine, NPDES Permit No. AK-003865-2

Dear Mr. Bonneau:

On January 8, 2010, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Region 10 issued the above-referenced National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permit to Teck Alaska Incorporated. On February 18, 2010, the Environmental Appeals Board notified Region 10 that Trustees for Alaska and the Center on Race, Poverty and the Environment, on behalf of several entities and individuals, filed a petition for review of the permit (Appeal No. NPDES 10-04). This letter serves as notification pursuant to 40 C.F.R. § 124.16(a)(2) of those permit conditions that are stayed as a result of the petition for review.

The following contested conditions of NPDES Permit No. AK-003865-2 are stayed until final agency action under 40 C.F.R. § 124.19(f):

- Part I.A.1, Table 1 effluent limitations for lead (monthly average limit), selenium (daily maximum limit), zinc and weak acid dissociable (WAD) cyanide
- Part I.A.7.a effluent limitations for Total Dissolved Solids (TDS)

Until final agency action, the following conditions in the 1998 NPDES Permit No. AK-003865-2 remain in effect:

• Part I.A.1 – effluent limitations for lead (monthly average limit), selenium (daily maximum limit), zinc, TDS, and total cyanide

Exhibit 1 - Region 10's Opposition to Motions to Expedite



The remainder of the January 8, 2010, permit conditions are uncontested and severable from the contested conditions and, in accordance with 40 C.F.R. §§ 124.16(a)(2) and 124.20(d), will become fully effective and enforceable 33 days after the date this notice is mailed.

Please feel free to contact Patty McGrath at (206) 553-0979 or Cindi Godsey at (907) 271-6561 should you have questions regarding this letter.

Sincerely,

Michael A. Bussell

Director, Office of Water

cc: Environmental Appeals Board

Millie Hawley, President, Native Village of Kivalina IRA Council

Caroline Cannon, President, Native Village of Point Hope IRA Council

Pamela Miller, Alaska Community Action on Toxics

Brook Brisson, Northern Alaska Environmental Center

Enoch Adams, Jr., Kivalina

Leroy Adams, Kivalina

Andrew Koenig, Kivalina

Jerry Norton, Kivalina

Joseph Swan, Sr., Kivalina

Brent Newell, Center for Race, Poverty, & the Environment

Victoria Clark, Trustees for Alaska

Don Kuhle, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

George Helfrich, National Park Service

Jack DiMarchi, State of Alaska Department of Natural Resources

Ukallaysaaq Tom Okleasik, Northwest Arctic Borough

Jackie Hill, Maniilaq Association

Marie Greene, NANA Regional Corporation, Inc.

Tim Pilon, State of Alaska, Department of Environmental Conservation